Understanding the Four Most Common Types of Breast Cancer

Breast cancer is not the only type of cancer to fall upon a woman, but it is the most feared and common cancer to strike females. With frequent self-checks and mammograms, it is highly probable that breast cancer can be caught early and treated.

However, it is the type of cancer that can sometimes dictate not only the course of treatment but the cure rate as well. There are four common types of breast cancer in women. They are named after the area of the breast in which the cancer develops.

Here is a basic overview to provide an understanding of these cancers:

1. DCIS or Ductal Carcinoma in situ

This cancer is in the milk ducts of the breast and considered to be a stage 0 cancer. That means the cancer has not spread anywhere else. DCIS is almost always curable.

2. Invasive Ductal Carcinoma

The milk ducts are also where this cancer’s origin is. However, this variety goes through the duct walls and enters the fatty part of the breast in an insidious way. Invasive ductal carcinoma is considered the most common type of breast cancer.

3. LCIS or Lobular carcinoma in situ

LCIS is not a “real” cancer, but it serves as a red flag as to a greater possibility of developing full blown breast cancer later. Its location is pinpointed to the breast lobules, where milk is produced. With this type of cancer, both the doctor and patient have to keep an eye on the situation with regular check-ups and mammograms.

4. Invasive Lobular Carcinoma

The lobules in the breast are the starting area for this infiltrating type of cancer. It spreads to other areas of the breast and even the rest of the body.

Diligence is the key to defeating breast cancer. That means frequent mammograms and performing self-checks of the breast for any lumps or oddities.

If there is a history of breast cancer in the family, women should start mammograms at an earlier age. Breast cancer is the wake-up call, but it doesn’t have to be a life sentence.

More Related Topics